Henry Sibley Band

Sibley Marching Band Chosen to Perform at Washington D.C. 4th of July Parade!
Please Donate to GETSMB2DC!
Click Below to Donate




The Sibley Music Department is proud to announce that sophomore, Noah Russel received a perfect score of 40 at Solo and Ensemble Contest on Tuesday, March 20th. Congratulations Noah on this absolutely astounding accomplishment!

Congratulations to the following Orchestra students who received Superior Ratings at Solo and Ensemble Contest on March 13th. Way to go!

Katie Becker
Justin Ciletti
Luca Ciletti
Ellie Elander
Gabe Fromm
Andrew Gotham
Nico Ibarra
Cole Jacobs
Ellie Thirsten
Rachel Vanasse
Maya Villefuerte
Karina Geytsman
Tasha Kemna

A big congrats to the following freshmen and sophomore band students who received Superior Ratings at Solo and Ensemble Contest

Peter Altier
Caroline Anderson
Gena Getty
Emily Inserra
Katie Lewis
Anne Monroe
Quinn Munson
Miguel O’Neill
Margaret Shenouda
Avery Vogen

Izzy Altier
Joe Barnard
Yliana DeLeon
Clara Dupont
Kaitlyn Flannagan
Ben Kirkwood
Matt Lao
Jessica McAllister
Marcus Michienzi
Wakene Mojo
Steven Nickson
Alonso Reyes
Kaylee Robrahn
Noah Russell
Sergei Wong

Congratulations to our junior and senior band students who received Superior Ratings at Solo and Ensemble Contest!

Will Ascher
Daniel Bolin
B’elanna Cheatham
Vic Fischer
Sawyer Inserra
Peter McKenzie
Michael Rosario

Sophia Barnard
Keyla Bentanzos
Emily Gallagher
Nicco Ibarra
Matt Larsen
Mitch LaCroix
Erin McCulloch
Thomas Miranda
Buddy Rundquist
Isabel Sander
Lillian Smith
Ronnie Wakeen
Mary Yotter

Congratulations to sophomore, bassist from Jazz I, Justin Ciletti who was selected as the one and only bassist for the Minnesota Band Director’s Association 9/10 Honors Jazz band

2017 Winter Band Concert Photo’s

ASBDA Honors Jazz Band

Justin Ciletti, bass
Ben Kirkwood, trombone
Noah Russel, trumpet
Joe Barnard, trumpet
Wakene Mojo, tenor sax

St. Olaf Honor Band:

Sophia Barnard, flute
Thomas Miranda, trumpet
Michael Rosaria, bassoon
Keyla Bentanzos, clarinet

Eau Claire Honor Band

Matt Lao
Sophia Barnard
Isabel Sander
Anna Dupont
Nico Ibarra
Buddy Rundquist

Gustavus Honor Band

Jessica McAllister
Keyla Bentanzos
Alexa Lutz-Chase
Ronnie Wakeen
Sophia Inserra
Matt Larsen
Thomas Miranda
Buddy Rundquist

Winona State Honor Band

Buddy (Daniel Rundquist), tuba
Matt Larsen, tenor saxophone
Sophia Inserra, percussion
Alexa Lutz-Chase, flute

UMD Honor Band:

Maroon Band:
Michael Rosario, junior bassoon
Keyla Bentanzos, senior clarinet
Will Ascher, junior trumpet
Jessica McAllister, sophomore clarinet
Alexa Lutz- Chase, sophomore flute
Mary Yotter, senior french horn
Sophia Inserra, junior perucussion
Matt Lao, sophomore bari sax
Matt Larsen, senior tenor sax
Wakene Mojo, sophomore tenor sax
Nico Ibarra, senior trombone
Joe Barnard, sophomore trumpet
Gold Band (Elite Ensemble):
Sophia Barnard – senior flute
Buddy (Daniel) Rundquist – senior tuba
Mitch (Raymond) LaCroix, – senior tuba

SMB In the News

The Henry Sibley Marching Band earned a second place finish at the Milaca parade with a score of 81.4 on Thursday, June 15th. This was the highest score the Warriors have achieved at their first parade in decades. The 2017 SMB season is off to a great start!

Congratulations to Choir Member Katira Lutterman who was selected as an Alternate to the Minnesota Music Educator’s Association All-State Choir!

Congratulations to Sibley students David Timm and Daniel “Buddy” Rundquist who were named as All-State members. All-State is the highest honor a music student can receive in the state of MN. David and Buddy will attend a week long camp at Concordia College in Moorhead in August. Then they will perform at Orchestra Hall in February 2018, during the Minnesota Music Educators Association (MMEA) Midwinter Clinic, when nearly all music teachers in the state of Minnesota will gather in Minneapolis for three days of professional development, classes, and concert. Choir member David Timm will sing Bass 1 under G. Phillip Shoultz III, assistance conductor of VocalEssence. Band member Buddy will play tuba under the director of Andrew Mast from Lawrence University. Congratulations to David and Buddy we are proud of you!

Sibley Wind Ensemble received a Superior Rating at MSHL Regional Contest on Tuesday, February 28th! The Wind Ensemble delivered a stellar performance! Way to go Wind!

Congratulations to the Sibley Winter Guard for their undefeated season. Good luck to the guard as they head into their last two weekends of competition!

Congratulations to the following band students who earned a Superior Rating at the MSHL Solo and Ensemble Contest held at Simley High School on March 14th 2017:

9th Grade: Dennis Canada, Ashley Carlson, Tony Koetz, James Landsman, Jessica McAllister (2), Calvin Millet, Mason Schreiner, Sylvia Soukup

10th Grade: Sarina Boley, Daniel Bolin, Bea Cheatham, Jaymee Gulsvig, Roberto Patricio Lucas, Michael Rosario, Madisyn Vanasse, Lindsey Willwerscheid

11th Grade: Austin Armon, Sophia Barnard, Keyla Bentanzos, Anna Dupont (2), Emily Gallagher, Erin McCulloch, Julia Michienzi, Coco Moog, Lillian Smith

12th Grade: Tyler Columbus (2), Victoria Garner (2), Maddie McDermott, Buddy Rundquist, Grace Sullivan, Sydney Truran (2), Ben Wirrer, Jenny Yang

Congratulations to the following band students who received the highest honor of “Best in Site” at the MSHL Solo and Ensemble Contest held at Simley High School on March 14th 2017:

Wind Ensemble Clarinet Ensemble: Sydney Truran, Tyler Columbus, Keyla Bentanzos, Lillian Smith, Jessica McAllister, Jenny Yang, and Grace Sullivan

Buddy Rundquist, 11th grade Tuba Solo with a score of 39/40

Sydney Truran, 12th grade Clarinet Solo with a perfect score!

Congratulations to our jazz students who were recognized as outstanding musicians at the Duluth Jazz Festival on March 18th: Nico Ibarra, guitar. Justin Celetti, bass. Jazz members Vic Fischer, drums and Sydney Truran, piano/voice were recognized for their outstanding performance in both jazz band and jazz combo! Way to go jazzers!

Congratulations to sophomore, Peter McKenzie and freshman, Matt Lao who have been selected for the 2017 SEMBDA 9-10 Honors Jazz Band. McKenzie and Lao will practice and perform on with other select jazz musicians from the SEMBDA region on Saturday, March 4th and they will perform the same day at 3pm at Lakeville South High School.

Congratulations to the Sibley Jazz Combo who were named, “Best in Site” at the Duluth Jazz Festival on March 18th. Jazz combo members are Nico Ibarra, Wakene Mojo, Peter McKenzie, Tyler Columbus, Justin Celetti, Vic Fischer, and Sydney Truran. Awesome work jazz combo!



Music Department @HSHS
Pay Dues Online
Charms (Student Accounts)
Instrument Upgrades
Donate to Henry Sibley Band